Skip to content

BTEC ICT Specialist Diploma Level 3 - No Attendance Required

IT Support, Networking and Security, QCF Accredited

Kandu IT


£995 inc VAT
Finance options

Monthly payment plan available.

Study method
240 hours · Self-paced
Access to content
14 months
Level 3 Diploma in ICT Systems and Principles for IT Professionals
Regulated qualification What's this?
Additional info
  • Exam(s) / assessment(s) is included in price
  • Tutor is available to students
  • TOTUM card available but not included in price What's this?

643 students enquired about this course

Add to basket or enquire


The BTEC Diploma in ICT Systems & Principles Level 3 (QCF) accredits skills in IT Support, Maintenance, Networking & Security. The course also closely follows the CompTIA Network+ and Security+ learning outcomes.

Learning and Assessments are conducted remotely via the online learning interface, NO EXAMS are required.


Level 3 Diploma in ICT Systems and Principles for IT Professionals

Awarded by Pearson
Regulated by Ofqual

Course media


Kandu Education Ltd create innovative learning solutions for use outside of the traditional classroom. Our unique delivery system blends the flexibility of online learning, whilst ensuring practical skill development.

The course is delivered via the online learning interface which includes interactive content such as Videos,Printable Practical Tasks, Online Quizzes and Live Labs.

Course Contents:

  • Computer Systems & Maintenance - Learn to build computers to custom specifications. Support, maintain and secure Windows 10 & 11 systems.
  • Network Principles - Understand network models, topology, devices, protocols and standards.
  • Troubleshooting - Learn to find and fix issues with computer hardware, software and networks.
  • Practical Networking - Work with Windows Servers and Active Directory, configure IPv4 and IPv6 networks, setup Group Policy and manage User Rights.
  • Cyber Security - Identify vulnerabilities & threats, learn about network hardening, physical security, access control, forensics, firewalls and cryptography.
  • Cloud Based - Learn practically by accessing real devices in the cloud.
  • CompTIA Network+ - Supplied labs covers Network+ N10-008 practical objectives.
  • CompTIA Security+ - Supplied course material covers all Security+ SY0-601 objectives.

Tutor Support:

All learners are provided with a personal tutor and a dedicated assessor which are available via phone, email, in person (by appointment) and through the learning interface.

Qualification Details:

  • Qualification: BTEC Diploma in ICT Systems & Principles L3
  • Awarding Body: Pearson Edexcel
  • QAN: 501/1435/9
  • Duration: 240 Hours.
  • QCF Credits: 40


The qualification requires an estimated 240 learning hours to be completed. 14 months access is provided to the learning system allows you to study at your own pace.


BTEC ICT Specialist Qualifications are vocational qualifications, primarily designed for career progression. On completion the learner will be qualified to apply for technical positions related to IT Support & Networking.

The Level 3 ICT Specialist Diploma carries 40 QCF Credits & 24 UCAS Points which can be used towards entry to higher levels such as HNC/HND.

Who is this course for?

The course is suitable for anyone looking to accredit skills in IT Support, Networking & Cyber Security.

This BTEC ICT Specialist Diploma requires no exams with assessment is based on a portfolio of evidence consisting of assignments and practical assessments which are documented as short video clips/screen recordings of your practical work.


No formal pre-requisites, however it is recommended that a candidate have at least some experience of using computers.

Career path

The qualification is designed to act as a platform which will allow the learner to secure employment ranging from an IT Support Technician up to Systems/Network Administration with a salary expectations ranging from £30,537 - £47,291 (source, Reed salary calculator).

Questions and answers


Currently there are no reviews for this course. Be the first to leave a review.


Study method describes the format in which the course will be delivered. At Reed Courses, courses are delivered in a number of ways, including online courses, where the course content can be accessed online remotely, and classroom courses, where courses are delivered in person at a classroom venue.

CPD stands for Continuing Professional Development. If you work in certain professions or for certain companies, your employer may require you to complete a number of CPD hours or points, per year. You can find a range of CPD courses on Reed Courses, many of which can be completed online.

A regulated qualification is delivered by a learning institution which is regulated by a government body. In England, the government body which regulates courses is Ofqual. Ofqual regulated qualifications sit on the Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF), which can help students understand how different qualifications in different fields compare to each other. The framework also helps students to understand what qualifications they need to progress towards a higher learning goal, such as a university degree or equivalent higher education award.

An endorsed course is a skills based course which has been checked over and approved by an independent awarding body. Endorsed courses are not regulated so do not result in a qualification - however, the student can usually purchase a certificate showing the awarding body's logo if they wish. Certain awarding bodies - such as Quality Licence Scheme and TQUK - have developed endorsement schemes as a way to help students select the best skills based courses for them.