Skip to content

NCFE CACHE Level 3 Certificate in the Principles of End-Of-Life Care

FREE online course based remotely, to help you understand the principles of end-of-life care further into level 3

CT Skills Limited


Funding options


  • Aged 19+ as of 31st August 2023
  • Lived in the EU for the last 3...
Study method
Course format What's this?
Reading material - PDF/e-book
12 weeks · Self-paced
Access to content
Access until course completion
Level 3 Certificate in the Principles of End of Life Care (RQF)
Regulated qualification What's this?
150 CPD hours / points
Additional info
  • Tutor is available to students

91 students enquired about this course

Add to basket or enquire


*Please first check eligibility requirements before enquiring:


  • Aged 19+ as of 31st August 2023
  • Lived in the EU for the last 3 years
  • You do not hold a level 3 (or higher) qualification in any subject, or, if you do hold a qualification of at least level 3, you must be either unemployed or in employment but earning below the low wage threshold of £20,319
  • *Other eligibility criteria may apply

Want to learn about the principles of end-of-life care?

The level 3 Certificate in the Principles of End-of-Life Care will provide you with the principles of caring for people approaching death, enabling them to live their lives until they die. This qualification will provide you with an understanding of the principles of end-of-life care. You will learn about the definition of end-of-life care, approaches to end-of-life care, how to support a person, how to confront issues of death and bereavement and the wide range of care settings, including hospices, care homes, care in the community and primary care.


Level 3 Certificate in the Principles of End of Life Care (RQF)

Awarded by NCFE CACHE
Regulated by Ofqual


150 CPD hours / points
Accredited by The CPD Certification Service


Adverse circumstances can have a negative impact on anyone’s life, but children and young people are particularly vulnerable. They might face difficult personal circumstances or national and international disasters. This fully online Adverse Childhood Experiences course will give you the skills needed to support children and young people affected by adverse experiences. You will gain insight into how to strengthen their resilience and empower them to overcome the challenges they face.


  • Achieve a nationally recognised Level 3 qualification.
  • Improve your understanding of the principles of end-of-life care to support those people in their final hours of life.
  • Further your personal and professional development
  • Be able to support individuals effectively
  • Learn at a time that suits you without the need to attend college


  • Understanding end-of-life care
  • Communication during end-of-life care
  • Assessment and care planning in end-of-life care
  • Person-centred approaches to end-of-life care
  • Care during the final hours of life and bereavement care

Who is this course for?

This course is suitable for everyone, however, you might find it particularly interesting and useful if you want a career in Health and Social Care or completed our Level 2 Principles of End-of-Life Care course.


You must live in one of the following counties to receive funding for the course from the Department of Education.

  • Bedfordshire, Buckinghamshire
  • Cheshire East & West, Cornwall, Cumbria
  • Derbyshire, Devon, Dorset
  • Essex
  • Gloucestershire
  • Hampshire, Herefordshire, Humberside
  • Isle of Wight, Isles of Scilly
  • Kent
  • Lancashire, Leicestershire, Lincolnshire
  • Norfolk, Northamptonshire, Nottinghamshire
  • Oxfordshire
  • Rutland
  • Shropshire, Somerset, Staffordshire, Suffolk, Surrey, Sussex
  • Warwickshire, Wiltshire, Worcestershire

Career path

This qualification supports progression to employment and progression within employment in health and social care.


Currently there are no reviews for this course. Be the first to leave a review.


What does study method mean?

Study method describes the format in which the course will be delivered. At Reed Courses, courses are delivered in a number of ways, including online courses, where the course content can be accessed online remotely, and classroom courses, where courses are delivered in person at a classroom venue.

What are CPD hours/points?

CPD stands for Continuing Professional Development. If you work in certain professions or for certain companies, your employer may require you to complete a number of CPD hours or points, per year. You can find a range of CPD courses on Reed Courses, many of which can be completed online.

What is a ‘regulated qualification’?

A regulated qualification is delivered by a learning institution which is regulated by a government body. In England, the government body which regulates courses is Ofqual. Ofqual regulated qualifications sit on the Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF), which can help students understand how different qualifications in different fields compare to each other. The framework also helps students to understand what qualifications they need to progress towards a higher learning goal, such as a university degree or equivalent higher education award.

What is an ‘endorsed’ course?

An endorsed course is a skills based course which has been checked over and approved by an independent awarding body. Endorsed courses are not regulated so do not result in a qualification - however, the student can usually purchase a certificate showing the awarding body’s logo if they wish. Certain awarding bodies - such as Quality Licence Scheme and TQUK - have developed endorsement schemes as a way to help students select the best skills based courses for them.