Skip to content

NCFE L4 Certificate in Leading Internal Quality Assurance of AssessmentProcesses &practice

Blended Learning

UK Versity Online.


£995 inc VAT
Or £82.92/mo. for 12 months...
Study method
Online with live classes
20 weeks, Part-time/Full-time
Level 4 Certificate in Leading the Internal Quality Assurance of Assessment Processes and Practice
Regulated qualification What's this?
Additional info
  • Tutor is available to students

Add to basket or enquire


This qualification is intended for those who lead a team of internal quality assurance staff. The Level 4 Certificate (previously V1 award) in the Internal Quality Assurance of Assessment Processes and Practice (IQA) is a 17 credit and 115 guided learning hour qualification consisting of 3 mandatory units.

This qualification replaces the V1 and V2 qualifications. It is part of the new suite of qualifications for assessors, internal quality assurers (IQA) and external quality assurers (EQA). Learners must complete 3 mandatory units worth 17 credits in total to achieve the NCFE Level 4 Award in Internal Quality Assurance


Level 4 Certificate in Leading the Internal Quality Assurance of Assessment Processes and Practice

Regulated by Ofqual

Course media


  • NCFE L4 Certificate in Leading Internal Quality Assurance of Assessment Processes & practice Brochure - download


Unit 1: Understanding Principles and Practices of Internally Assuring the Quality of assessment (T/601/5320)- This unit provides the opportunity to relate underpinning knowledge and understanding to the practice of internal quality assurance. Sharing knowledge and experience with peers and colleagues provides an opportunity both to share good practice and to reflect on assessment approaches.

Unit 2: Internally assure the quality of assessment (A/601/5321)- This unit will give you the opportunity to apply the principles and requirements of internal quality assurance to a real working context and identify ways in which to develop and improve your practice.

Unit 3: Plan, allocate and monitor work in their own area of responsibility (H/600/9674)-This unit helps learners to plan, allocate and monitor work in their own area of responsibility and make any necessary changes to original work plans

Who is this course for?

This qualification is also suitable for individuals from diverse sectors and for those who may already be employed as an internal quality assurer or in a supervisory role for a training provider, FE college or internal training department, or looking to progress to leading a team of quality assurers.


  1. 1.These qualifications are designed for learner aged 19 and above.
  2. 2.You will need to have completed your TAQA / A1 /D32 & D33 award and have experience in the assessment process.
  3. 3.You will also need to provide two of your own assessors to internally verify.

The range of direct evidence MUST include:

  • Monitoring of a minimum of TWO assessors
  • Assessment of a minimum of TWO candidates per assessor
  • Observation of practice
  • Examination of products of work and questioning these can be supplemented, where necessary, with professional discussion, reflective accounts or witness statements.

Career path

Learners will be able to work as an Internal Verifier.

Learners who achieve this qualification could progress to NCFE Level 4 Certificate in Education and Training or NCFE Level 5 Diploma in Education and Training

Questions and answers

Currently there are no Q&As for this course. Be the first to ask a question.


Currently there are no reviews for this course. Be the first to leave a review.


What does study method mean?

Study method describes the format in which the course will be delivered. At Reed Courses, courses are delivered in a number of ways, including online courses, where the course content can be accessed online remotely, and classroom courses, where courses are delivered in person at a classroom venue.

What are CPD hours/points?

CPD stands for Continuing Professional Development. If you work in certain professions or for certain companies, your employer may require you to complete a number of CPD hours or points, per year. You can find a range of CPD courses on Reed Courses, many of which can be completed online.

What is a ‘regulated qualification’?

A regulated qualification is delivered by a learning institution which is regulated by a government body. In England, the government body which regulates courses is Ofqual. Ofqual regulated qualifications sit on the Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF), which can help students understand how different qualifications in different fields compare to each other. The framework also helps students to understand what qualifications they need to progress towards a higher learning goal, such as a university degree or equivalent higher education award.

What is an ‘endorsed’ course?

An endorsed course is a skills based course which has been checked over and approved by an independent awarding body. Endorsed courses are not regulated so do not result in a qualification - however, the student can usually purchase a certificate showing the awarding body’s logo if they wish. Certain awarding bodies - such as Quality Licence Scheme and TQUK - have developed endorsement schemes as a way to help students select the best skills based courses for them.