Skip to content

CMI Level 7 Diploma Strategic Management & Leadership Practice

Online training course with accredited CMI study materials and tutor support.



Enquire to get more info on pricing
Study method
Online, self-paced
370 hours
Access to content
12 months
CMI Level 7 Diploma in Strategic Management and Leadership Practice
Regulated qualification What's this?
Additional info
  • Tutor is available to students

201 students enquired about this course

Add to basket or enquire


The Level 7 Diploma in Strategic Management and Leadership Practice is accredited by the Chartered Management Institute (CMI). It is a globally recognised certification that will provide you with a fully comprehensive bank of skills and knowledge required to implement fundamental management and leadership models within an organisation’s strategic framework.

Upon successful completion of the CMI Level 7 in Strategic Management & Leadership Practice, students are awarded Foundation Chartered Manager status.


CMI Level 7 Diploma in Strategic Management and Leadership Practice

Regulated by Ofqual


The CMI Level 7 Diploma in Strategic Management and Leadership Practice course includes the following units. Learners need to select five or six units to a minimum total qualification time (made up of total unit time (TUT)) of 370 hours, with a minimum of 300 hours from Group A, and 70 hours from either Group A or Group B.

Group A:

  • Unit 701 - Strategic leadership (110 TUT)
  • Unit 702 - Leading and developing people to optimise performance (100 TUT)
  • Unit 703 - Collaboration and partnerships (70 TUT)
  • Unit 704 - Developing organisational strategy (90 TUT)
  • Unit 705 - Leading strategic change (80 TUT)
  • Unit 706 - Finance for strategic leaders (90 TUT)
  • Unit 707 - Organisational design and development (80 TUT)
  • Unit 708 - Strategic risk management (80 TUT)
  • Unit 709 - Strategic management of data and information (80 TUT)
  • Unit 710 - Marketing strategy (80 TUT)
  • Unit 711 - Entrepreneurial practice (90 TUT)
  • Unit 712 - Strategical management project (100 TUT)
  • Unit 713 - Applied research for strategic leaders (70 TUT)
  • Unit 714 - Personal and professional development for strategic leaders (90 TUT)
  • Unit 715 - Strategic approaches to equality, diversity and inclusion (80 TUT)
  • Unit 716 - Strategic approaches to mental health and wellbeing (70 TUT)

Group B:

  • Unit 609 - Leading quality management (70 TUT)
  • Unit 612 - Coaching skills for leaders (70 TUT)

For learners starting on the CMI Level 7 Diploma in Strategic Management and Leadership Practice, after successfully completing the programme you could then consider progression opportunities with the goal of becoming a Chartered Manager or furthering your education with Higher Education study.

Did you know?

  • The Chartered Management Institute (CMI) is the Chartered Body for Management and Leadership
  • The CMI are the only Chartered professional body in the field of Management and Leadership that can award the Chartered Manager status, the highest accolade for managers and leaders
  • 80% of managers said that a CMI qualification is a key part of becoming a professional manager
  • 81% of individuals were able to share their new skills with their team
  • 79% confirmed their new skills has increased overall team performance

Benefits of studying with ITonlinelearning

  • Ability to study at your own pace 24/7
  • You can pause and rewind the material at any time
  • Studying is broken down into easily manageable sections
  • Access to study material for 1 year
  • Dedicated tutor support to answer your course questions
  • Excellent career resources for refreshing your knowledge, updating your CV and preparing for interviews

For more information, enquire now and one of our highly experienced Course and Career Advisors will assist you in determining the best study path for your specific needs.

Who is this course for?

Individuals wishing to develop strategic management and leadership practice who will have the knowledge, skills and behaviours to drive business activities in a senior, regional, specialist, director or CEO management and leadership role.


There are no formal prerequisites required to study this certification. However, you should have sufficient capability at the right level to undertake the learning and assessment.

Career path

Upon completion, the CMI Level 7 Diploma in Strategic Management and Leadership Practice can lead to any of the following roles:

  • Senior Manager
  • Regional Manager
  • Specialist Manager
  • Director
  • CEO

Questions and answers


Course rating


What does study method mean?

Study method describes the format in which the course will be delivered. At Reed Courses, courses are delivered in a number of ways, including online courses, where the course content can be accessed online remotely, and classroom courses, where courses are delivered in person at a classroom venue.

What are CPD hours/points?

CPD stands for Continuing Professional Development. If you work in certain professions or for certain companies, your employer may require you to complete a number of CPD hours or points, per year. You can find a range of CPD courses on Reed Courses, many of which can be completed online.

What is a ‘regulated qualification’?

A regulated qualification is delivered by a learning institution which is regulated by a government body. In England, the government body which regulates courses is Ofqual. Ofqual regulated qualifications sit on the Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF), which can help students understand how different qualifications in different fields compare to each other. The framework also helps students to understand what qualifications they need to progress towards a higher learning goal, such as a university degree or equivalent higher education award.

What is an ‘endorsed’ course?

An endorsed course is a skills based course which has been checked over and approved by an independent awarding body. Endorsed courses are not regulated so do not result in a qualification - however, the student can usually purchase a certificate showing the awarding body’s logo if they wish. Certain awarding bodies - such as Quality Licence Scheme and TQUK - have developed endorsement schemes as a way to help students select the best skills based courses for them.