Live-in PA/Carer/Support Worker/Stevenage -Suit Graduate!

Posted 7 November by Ask Jules

Live-in PA/Carer/Support Worker/Stevenage -Suit Graduate!

Working as a graduate engineer, just graduated with an MEng in Aeronautics and Astronautics (4 year course)

Pay rate: £120.00 per day START: November 2018 LOCATION: STEVENAGE

About Our client

We are recruiting on behalf of our client, who is a first year graduate engineer living and working in Stevenage.

Our client is a wheelchair user and his condition is Muscular Dystrophy that affects his mobility. No care experience is needed and all training will be given. Our client is:- ·Calm, Committed, Determined and Humorous ·Independent and Responsible ·Interested in Aircraft, Photography, Politics and Current Affairs ·Hobbies: Airfix Modelling, Flying Model Aircraft, ·Taking Flying Lessons en route to a Pilot Licence

About the job

One week on one week off live-in Personal Assistant required to assist me with day to day activities and personal care, as well as providing some support at work. This includes assisting with toileting, showering and dressing, preparation of meals, cooking, washing up and some support at various social activities. Assistance with driving to and from work may be required as well as support on work trips away from Stevenage. During the night time I will not normally require assistance and will text you if I require some help. The ideal applicant will be aged between 21 and 30, responsible, confident, sociable and reliable.

Client’s condition

My disability is Severe Becker Muscular Dystrophy which causes progressive muscle weakness in my limbs. I use a powered wheelchair although I can walk in my room with assistance.

Mobility My powered wheelchair means I am independent getting around and I am able to stand up from the chair with support. I will need help with all daily activities and will require hoisting to be able to shower. I am able to use public transport in my powered wheelchair. Eating and Drinking I can eat and drink independently however I require a P.A. who can cook my meals, wash up, open bottles of water and assist with all my shopping. Dressing and Personal Hygiene You will be required to assist with my dressing in the mornings and evenings and get me ready for work as well showering and using the hoist. At Work Once I am in my powered wheelchair I can move around independently but may need help with some doors if they are not automatic. I will need the P.A. to gather my books and laptop, take them out of my bag, put them back into the bag when finished and assist with taking my coat or jumper off when moving between buildings. I require support periodically throughout the day with toileting and other personal care needs. During the day I may also need personal assistance with getting drinks and lunch. Weekends These will be more fluid than weekdays as I have several hobbies and I may occasionally go home to my family. Most of the time I will be enjoying relaxing and having some fun as well as some independence and so I will text you when I require some help. I am also likely to participate in weekend activities for which I require assistance.

Benefits/Rate of Pay You will have your own en suite room in the client’s flat in Stevenage. One week on one week off. Rate of Pay: £120.00 Per Day + Holiday Pay + Free Accommodation This is a great opportunity to really help make a difference to our client’s working life and personal achievements.

About You

You must be able to respect our client's privacy and have an understanding of the need for confidentiality in all areas of your work. ·You will need to be a like minded individual, supportive of our client’s academic and personal ambitions ·Have English as your first language. .Excellent hearing and communication skills .You will need to be physically fit, calm, patient and caring .Have a good sense of humour ·Be clean and tidy in both your appearance and ways. ·Full driving licence AskJules are agents for university students with physical disabilities who choose to employ Personal Assistants to provide their student support and personal care.

Live-in PA/Carer/Support Worker/Stevenage -Suit Graduate!

Required skills

  • Aircraft
  • Muscular Dystrophy
  • Graduate
  • Personal assistant
  • Carer

Application questions

Driving licence?
Criminal record?

Reference: 36551265

Bank or payment details should not be provided when applying for a job. reed.co.uk is not responsible for any external website content. All applications should be made via the 'Apply now' button.

Report this job