Skip to content

Level 5 Diploma in Teaching English: Literacy and ESOL Standalone (RQF)

Online based course with learning materials and tutor support provided

Enhanced Limited


£500 inc VAT
Study method
Online, self-paced
1 year
Level 5 Diploma in Teaching English: Literacy and ESOL (RQF)
Regulated qualification What's this?
Additional info
  • Tutor is available to students

198 students enquired about this course

Add to basket or enquire


The Level 5 Specialist Diplomas are qualifications which provide you with a full teaching qualification that is subject-specific. We offer the Diploma in Teaching Mathematics: Numeracy, Teaching English: Literacy, and Teaching English: Literacy and ESOL.

Throughout the programme, candidates will demonstrate their ability to transfer the findings of their research into their own practice. There is a requirement for 100 hours teaching/training practice and you must be qualified at Level 3 within the specialism for this course.


Level 5 Diploma in Teaching English: Literacy and ESOL (RQF)

Regulated by Ofqual


The qualification will be assessed through a combination of written essays, a portfolio of teaching evidence and observation of teaching or training. All units, assignments and learning materials for the course can be accessed through our online learning platform. Students have 12 months access to the online learning platform where they may study entirely at their own pace. Furthermore, learners will be observed for a total of 8 sessions (minimum 1 hour) during the course to assess the practical elements of the qualification.

Who is this course for?

This qualification is suitable for those who want the opportunity to explore underpinning theories, frameworks and research into effective teaching and learning alongside developing practical teaching skills specifically in Literacy. The course aims to develop these specific skills to prepare you to become a teacher of English/literacy and ESOL.


  • All learners must have access to 100 hours of teaching
  • Learners must be able to demonstrate skills in Maths and English at Level 2
  • Learners must be in-service or delivering sessions voluntarily – you will be observed in your workplace setting
  • Good reading and writing skills in English
  • Learners should be qualified/experienced in the subject they intend to teach

Career path

Upon completion of the level 5 diploma learners will be able to apply to the society for education and training for Qualified teacher learning and skills (QTLS) Status and therefore become a fully qualified teacher.

Questions and answers


Course rating


What does study method mean?

Study method describes the format in which the course will be delivered. At Reed Courses, courses are delivered in a number of ways, including online courses, where the course content can be accessed online remotely, and classroom courses, where courses are delivered in person at a classroom venue.

What are CPD hours/points?

CPD stands for Continuing Professional Development. If you work in certain professions or for certain companies, your employer may require you to complete a number of CPD hours or points, per year. You can find a range of CPD courses on Reed Courses, many of which can be completed online.

What is a ‘regulated qualification’?

A regulated qualification is delivered by a learning institution which is regulated by a government body. In England, the government body which regulates courses is Ofqual. Ofqual regulated qualifications sit on the Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF), which can help students understand how different qualifications in different fields compare to each other. The framework also helps students to understand what qualifications they need to progress towards a higher learning goal, such as a university degree or equivalent higher education award.

What is an ‘endorsed’ course?

An endorsed course is a skills based course which has been checked over and approved by an independent awarding body. Endorsed courses are not regulated so do not result in a qualification - however, the student can usually purchase a certificate showing the awarding body’s logo if they wish. Certain awarding bodies - such as Quality Licence Scheme and TQUK - have developed endorsement schemes as a way to help students select the best skills based courses for them.