Level 4 Higher Level Teaching Assistant

** HLTA Level 4 (RQF) Qualification ** |Fully Recognised Qualification | Ofsted Approved

The Learning College


Save 44%
£445 inc VAT (was £795)
Offer ends 30 November 2020
Finance options

** Payment Plan Available **

Deposit of £95.00 and then 8 x £50.00 per month

Study method
Online, self-paced
8 months
Access to content
Access until course completion
Level 4 Certificate for Higher Level Teaching Assistants (RQF) Teaching Assistant
Regulated What's this?
Additional info
  • Exam(s) / assessment(s) is included in price
  • Tutor is available to students

895 students enquired about this course

Add to basket or enquire

Enquire now


Our TQUK Level 4 (HLTA) Teaching Assistant (RQF) Qualification is a fully recognised qualification regulated by Ofqual, of which is accepted within schools throughout the UK in the teaching sector.

In recent years the role of the HLTA Teaching Assistant has developed to become both recognised and professional, in which qualifications exist at a number of levels, this qualification being the 'highest' at Level 4.

We want your experience of working with The Learning College to be as pleasant and enjoyable as possible.

• Guided learning hours: 87

• Credit value: 36

• Assessment requirements: Internally assessed and externally moderated portfolio of evidence along with observations in your work place by expert witness.


Level 4 Certificate for Higher Level Teaching Assistants (RQF) Teaching Assistant
Regulated by Ofqual


Aims and Objectives

This TQUK LEVE 4 (HLTA) Teaching Assistant (RQF) Qualification is a recognised (RQF) Teaching Assistant qualification suitable for all support roles within schools for those who work directly with children and young people. It seeks to develop the knowledge and understanding that all those working as a Higher Level Teaching Assistant in a school setting will need such as safeguarding, communication and understanding the school context.

Units Covered

Unit 1 – Understand the Higher Level Teaching Assistant role

Unit 2 – Child development and welfare

Unit 3 – Awareness of Special Educational Need

Unit 4 – Promoting positive behaviour in children and young people

Unit 5 – Providing support for individual and small groups

Unit 6 – Developing skills to promote positive working relationships

Unit 7 – Curriculum planning, delivery and assessment

The Qualification

Qualification reference number – 603/1432/1

Credit Value – 36

Additional certification fee will apply upon completion of your qualification.

Who is this course for?

This course if for anyone aged 16 and over, looking to become a HLTA Teaching Assistant Qualification or already practicing HLTA's looking to gain the official qualification.


  • Must be over the age of 16
  • GCSE Grade C or above or Level 2 Functional Skills

Career path

Higher Level Teaching Assistant/Classroom Assistant

Questions and answers


Course rating
Leave a review

{{ getTruncatedSinglePointScore(item.OverallCourseRating) }} Star Review by {{ item.ReviewerName }} for {{ item.Title }}

{{ getLongDate(item.CreatedOn) }}
{{ item.Title }}
Reviewed by {{ item.ReviewerName }}
|Purchased {{ getHumanisedPassageOftime(item.PurchasedOn) }}
{{ item.ProviderName }} responded to this review
{{ getLongDate(item.ProviderResponseDate) }}
{{ results.length }} out of {{ totalResultsCount }} reviews


What does study method mean?

Study method describes the format in which the course will be delivered. At courses are delivered in a number of ways, including online courses, where the course content can be accessed online remotely, and classroom courses, where courses are delivered in person at a classroom venue.

What are CPD hours/points?

CPD stands for Continuing Professional Development. If you work in certain professions or for certain companies, your employer may require you to complete a number of CPD hours or points, per year. You can find a range of CPD courses on, many of which can be completed online.

What is a ‘regulated qualification’?

A regulated qualification is delivered by a learning institution which is regulated by a government body. In England, the government body which regulates courses is Ofqual. Ofqual regulated qualifications sit on the Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF), which can help students understand how different qualifications in different fields compare to each other. The framework also helps students to understand what qualifications they need to progress towards a higher learning goal, such as a university degree or equivalent higher education award.

What is an ‘endorsed’ course?

An endorsed course is a skills based course which has been checked over and approved by an independent awarding body. Endorsed courses are not regulated so do not result in a qualification - however, the student can usually purchase a certificate showing the awarding body’s logo if they wish. Certain awarding bodies - such as ABC Awards and TQUK - have developed endorsement schemes as a way to help students select the best skills based courses for them.


Mobile Navigation