IT and Computing

University 1st and 2nd Year (Level 4 and 5)

Online Business School


£1,995 inc VAT
Finance options

Payment Plans are available, please speak to one of our course advisers for more information.

Study method
Online, self-paced
Level 4 Diploma in Computing (QCF)
Regulated What's this?
Additional info
  • Exam(s) / assessment(s) is included in price
  • Tutor is available to students
  • TOTUM card is included in price What's this?

213 students enquired about this course

Add to basket or enquire

Enquire now


Undergraduate Level 4/5 IT and Computing Diploma

The Undergraduate Level 4/5 IT and Computing Diploma offers the ideal platform to further your IT skills and other specialist knowledge. This qualification is for you if you are seeking to build a career in IT and Computing or are already working in the field of IT and wish to develop your knowledge and skills.

The course is assignment based and, upon completion, awards students with 240 credits which can be used to apply for a top-up at many major UK universities.

This course is fully online and provides access to 20 modules, 10 for each level, which consist of up to 40 hours of guided learning along with additional optional learning materials such as; recommended exercises, recommended readings and internet resources as well as self-testing exercises.

Once you enrol with Online Business School, you will receive a ‘Student Pack’ containing the following:

  • All course material, including online modules and written assignments
  • Personal tutor support with 1-2-1 Skype sessions
  • Dedicated student support
  • Access to an online social learning forum
  • Assignment marking and feedback
  • FREE NUS Extra card worth £19.90
  • FREE laptop *if fees are paid in full*
  • Free CV writing help on completion of the course.

Use code 'reed20' for 20% off your course fees.


Level 4 Diploma in Computing (QCF)
Regulated by Ofqual

Course media



This qualification is delivered and assessed fully online. To gain your ATHE Undergraduate Level 4/5 IT and Computing Diploma Certificate you must complete the following 20 Modules and corresponding assignments:

Level 4

  • Introduction to Computing
  • Introduction to Programming
  • Introduction to Databases
  • Requirements Engineering
  • Systems Analysis and Design
  • E- Commerce Applications
  • Human Computer Interaction
  • IT and Society
  • Information Systems Project Management
  • Management Information Systems

Level 5

  • Innovative Technologies in Computing
  • Computing Research Methods
  • Software Development Methodologies
  • Computing Project Planning
  • Strategic Management Information Systems
  • Ethical, Legal and Professional Issues in IT
  • Network Design and Management
  • Web Based Development
  • Cyber Security
  • Advanced Databases

Why study with Online Business School

  • Accreditation with ATHE, a fully Ofqual approved awarding body
  • Original learning material specifically tailored to each course
  • Industry expert Tutors available via skype and email
  • Completely accessible Learning Portal – available for mobile, tablet and desktop
  • Flexible payment options to spread the cost
  • Free ‘Student Pack’ upon enrolment
  • Top-up application support provided by our experienced student advisors

Financial options

We offer a range of payment plans and funding options and will work with you to find the right solution for your situation.

Who is this course for?

The Undergraduate Level 4/5 IT and Computing Diploma will give you a broader perspective of the many areas that IT and Computing covers, from programming and databases to project management and software development. The course is designed to cover multiple aspects of IT and Computing and therefore allow you to select which area to specialise in when it becomes time to top-up. If you are already working in IT, you will have a qualification that builds on your previous experience to demonstrate your commitment to furthering your career.

On completion, you will receive both an ATHE Undergraduate Level 4 Diploma in IT and Computing and an ATHE Undergraduate Level 5 Diploma in IT and Computing, totaling 240 credits.


Entry to level 4

Entry to Level 4 requires a full secondary education, equivalent to completion of A-levels and a minimum age of 18.

Entry to level 5

Requires a student to have completed Level 4 (the first year of a degree) or equivalent, for example HNC.

Career path

Upon successful completion of the Online Business School IT and Computing Course and subsequent Degree top-up, you will possess the relevant knowledge and skills required to apply for a career in the IT industry.

Examples of job roles you can enter or progress in with this level of study include:

  • Business analyst
  • Data analyst
  • Database administrator
  • Information systems manager
  • IT consultant

Questions and answers


Course rating
Leave a review

{{ getTruncatedSinglePointScore(item.OverallCourseRating) }} Star Review by {{ item.ReviewerName }} for {{ item.Title }}

{{ getLongDate(item.CreatedOn) }}
{{ item.Title }}
Reviewed by {{ item.ReviewerName }}
|Purchased {{ getHumanisedPassageOftime(item.PurchasedOn) }}
{{ item.ProviderName }} responded to this review
{{ getLongDate(item.ProviderResponseDate) }}
{{ results.length }} out of {{ totalResultsCount }} reviews


What does study method mean?

Study method describes the format in which the course will be delivered. At courses are delivered in a number of ways, including online courses, where the course content can be accessed online remotely, and classroom courses, where courses are delivered in person at a classroom venue.

What are CPD hours/points?

CPD stands for Continuing Professional Development. If you work in certain professions or for certain companies, your employer may require you to complete a number of CPD hours or points, per year. You can find a range of CPD courses on, many of which can be completed online.

What is a ‘regulated qualification’?

A regulated qualification is delivered by a learning institution which is regulated by a government body. In England, the government body which regulates courses is Ofqual. Ofqual regulated qualifications sit on the Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF), which can help students understand how different qualifications in different fields compare to each other. The framework also helps students to understand what qualifications they need to progress towards a higher learning goal, such as a university degree or equivalent higher education award.

What is an ‘endorsed’ course?

An endorsed course is a skills based course which has been checked over and approved by an independent awarding body. Endorsed courses are not regulated so do not result in a qualification - however, the student can usually purchase a certificate showing the awarding body’s logo if they wish. Certain awarding bodies - such as ABC Awards and TQUK - have developed endorsement schemes as a way to help students select the best skills based courses for them.


Mobile Navigation