Skip to content

Investment Advisor Certification

Level 4 - Online course Including Units 1, 2 and 3 with lifetime access

CIFA Education Management Ltd


£1,119 inc VAT
Or £93.25/mo. for 12 months...
Study method
Online, self-paced
Course format What's this?
Reading material - PDF/e-book
420 hours
Access to content
Lifetime access
No formal qualification
420 CPD hours / points
  • Certificate of Achievement - Free
Additional info
  • Exam(s) / assessment(s) not included in price, and must be purchased separately
  • Tutor is available to students

36 students purchased this course

Add to basket or enquire


The CIFA Investment Advisor Certificate (IAC) programme is an in-depth, graduate entry-level certification designed to give our financial students a structured e-learning programme that introduces them to the UK regulations and professional ethics; investment risk and taxation; and derivatives - all of which are critical elements of continuing professional development within the investment profession.

Consisting of three units, "Introduction to UK Regulations and Professional Integrity", "Introduction to Investment Risk and Taxation" and "Introduction to Derivatives", the Investment Advisor Certification (IAC), provides students with comprehensive knowledge and a good understanding.

Approximate total study time is 140 hours per unit.


420 CPD hours / points
Accredited by The CPD Certification Service


The CIFA Investment Advisor Certificate (IAC) is suitable for graduates, beginning their career, who need to enhance their knowledge and showcase their commitment to further development in the financial industry, prior to undertaking FCA regulated qualifications.

Unit 1 "Introduction to UK Financial Regulation & Professional Integrity" consists of 10 chapters covering:

UK Financial Markets

UK Financial Services & Risk

Contract & Trust: Legal Framework

Professionalism and Ethics

Regulators of the K Financial Services

Governance, Principles & Regulations (FCA & PRA)

Competence of Companies & Individuals (FCA & PRA)

Regulations Relating to Financial Crime

Complaints & Redress

COBS: Conduct of Business Sourcebook of the FCA

Unit 2 "Introduction to Investment Risk & Taxation" consists of 8 chapters covering:

Various Types of Asset Classes

The Macroeconomic Environment

Investment Risk & Return: The Basic Principles

Investor & Investment Taxation

Types of Investment Products

Planning and Constructing Portfolios

Providing Investment Advice

Performance & Reviewing of Portfolios

Unit 3 "Derivatives" consists of 10 chapters covering:

Derivatives – An Overview

Underlying Assets

Exchange-Traded Futures and Options

Over-the-Counter (OTC) Derivatives


Delivery and Settlement

Researching and Constructing Portfolios

Trading, Hedging and Investment Strategies

Selection and Administration of Investments

Regulatory Requirements

Additional Study Support materials such as Webinars and PowerPoint presentations are available for each chapter of the unit at an additional fee.

Who is this course for?

The CIFA Investment Advisor Certificate (IAC) is suitable for graduates, beginning their career, who need to enhance their knowledge and showcase their commitment to further development in the financial industry, prior to undertaking FCA regulated qualifications.


Level 3 qualification or equivalent e.g. A levels

Questions and answers

No questions or answers found containing ''.

olusegun asked:

If examination is not included in £1,119, it means, the amount is only for the purchase of the book.


Dear Olusegun, thank you for your enquiry. The exams fees are separate from the course materials. However, we have a special offer for the exams. Kindly send us an email at and you will receive more information with regard to that.

This was helpful. Thank you for your feedback.
Omotola asked:

hi wouid i be able to access and begin the course after the first installmental payment


Hello Omotola, Upon payment of the first instalment you will have full access to the course material and can start whenever you choose.

This was helpful. Thank you for your feedback.
Hussnain asked:

Hi, When is it next starting dates for the IAC course ? Thanks


Dear Hussnain, Thank you for your enquiry. There are no set start dates to the course as it is self-paced and self-taught, thereby allowing you to work comfortably around your personal commitments. So you are free to begin your learning at any time of your convenience. Please feel free to reach out directly to us by email on for any further enquiries.

This was helpful. Thank you for your feedback.
Remi asked:

Is there a starter pack to start with


Dear Remi, thank you for your enquuiry. You are at liberty to start with any course of your choice. Please contact us at if you need any further clarification.

This was helpful. Thank you for your feedback.


Certificate of Achievement

Digital certificate - Included

Students will only be issued a Certificate of Achievement after sitting and passing the exam successfully.

*Exam fees are not included in the course fees.

Students will not be charged any additional fees to receive their Certificate upon completing and passing the exam successfully.


Currently there are no reviews for this course. Be the first to leave a review.


What does study method mean?

Study method describes the format in which the course will be delivered. At Reed Courses, courses are delivered in a number of ways, including online courses, where the course content can be accessed online remotely, and classroom courses, where courses are delivered in person at a classroom venue.

What are CPD hours/points?

CPD stands for Continuing Professional Development. If you work in certain professions or for certain companies, your employer may require you to complete a number of CPD hours or points, per year. You can find a range of CPD courses on Reed Courses, many of which can be completed online.

What is a ‘regulated qualification’?

A regulated qualification is delivered by a learning institution which is regulated by a government body. In England, the government body which regulates courses is Ofqual. Ofqual regulated qualifications sit on the Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF), which can help students understand how different qualifications in different fields compare to each other. The framework also helps students to understand what qualifications they need to progress towards a higher learning goal, such as a university degree or equivalent higher education award.

What is an ‘endorsed’ course?

An endorsed course is a skills based course which has been checked over and approved by an independent awarding body. Endorsed courses are not regulated so do not result in a qualification - however, the student can usually purchase a certificate showing the awarding body’s logo if they wish. Certain awarding bodies - such as Quality Licence Scheme and TQUK - have developed endorsement schemes as a way to help students select the best skills based courses for them.