Skip to content

CACHE Level 3 Award in Health and Social Care

Oakwood Home Learning


£359 inc VAT
Finance options

Pay for this course through 6 monthly instalments. Enquire by filling in the form on the right and ...

Study method
Distance learning, self-paced
180 hours
Level 3 Award in Health and Social Care (VRQ)
Regulated qualification What's this?
Additional info
  • Exam(s) / assessment(s) is included in price
  • Tutor is available to students
  • TOTUM card is available to purchase separately What's this?

236 students enquired about this course

Add to basket or enquire


Get qualified in health and social care with a CACHE Level 3 Award in Health and Social Care through distance learning. Working in care is a rewarding career path and this course helps you to develop your understanding in all parts of health and social care.

This course is great for anyone that wishes to work in health and social care with children or adults. Throughout the units you will learn what is required when working in a care setting including safeguarding and care in health and social care.


Level 3 Award in Health and Social Care (VRQ)

Regulated by Ofqual


Studying for this CACHE Level 3 Health and Social Care qualification gives a great insight into working in care and allows people to work with children and adults. The course results in a fully recognised CACHE Level 3 qualification that is great for anyone currently working or looking to gain employment in the care sector.

UCAS points are available on this course.

Study time:180 hours

Enrolment length:12 months

Course format:Paper based pack

Assignments:6 written tasks

Entry requirements:None specific

Unit 1:Equality, diversity and rights in health and social care

In this first part of the course we will be looking at how equality, diversity and inclusion are used within health and social care and the reasons for adopting an inclusive approach. By doing this you can include each individual that you care for and ensure they receive care to the highest possible standard.

Unit 2: Human growth and development

In this unit we will look at the various stages of development that humans undergo throughout their lifetime. This is a very difficult area of study as human life is incredibly complex and experiences differ for every individual. We will look at some work by top theorists on human development and explore the different stages that have been developed by psychologists.

Unit 3: Safeguarding in Health and Social Care

Safeguarding and looking out for the well-being of those that you care for should always be something that is understood and checked within a health and social care setting. Doing this ensures that each person you care for is fully protected and safe from any potential risk which may come their way.

Who is this course for?

This course is for people who are already working, or looking to start a career in, health and social care. The course covers all aspects of social care and will help people to work in a range of different job roles in the care sector. These jobs include:

  • Residential care homes
  • Nursing homes
  • Day centres
  • Children’s centres
  • Health centres
  • Supported accommodation
  • Respite care
  • Residential schools
  • Special schools

Career path

This qualification supports progression into a wide range of job roles in the health and social care sector, including:

  • Care Support Workers in adult residential settings
  • Healthcare Assistants in Community, Primary Care and Acute Health Environments
  • Care Support Workers in Domiciliary Services, Supported Living or Day Services
  • Community-Based Support Workers

Questions and answers


Course rating
Leave a review

{{ getTruncatedSinglePointScore(item.OverallCourseRating) }} Star Review by {{ item.ReviewerName }} for {{ item.Title }}

{{ getLongDate(item.CreatedOn) }}
{{ item.Title }}
Reviewed by {{ item.ReviewerName }}
|Purchased {{ getHumanisedPassageOftime(item.PurchasedOn) }}
{{ item.ProviderName }} responded to this review
{{ getLongDate(item.ProviderResponseDate) }}
{{ results.length }} out of {{ totalResultsCount }} reviews


What does study method mean?

Study method describes the format in which the course will be delivered. At courses are delivered in a number of ways, including online courses, where the course content can be accessed online remotely, and classroom courses, where courses are delivered in person at a classroom venue.

What are CPD hours/points?

CPD stands for Continuing Professional Development. If you work in certain professions or for certain companies, your employer may require you to complete a number of CPD hours or points, per year. You can find a range of CPD courses on, many of which can be completed online.

What is a ‘regulated qualification’?

A regulated qualification is delivered by a learning institution which is regulated by a government body. In England, the government body which regulates courses is Ofqual. Ofqual regulated qualifications sit on the Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF), which can help students understand how different qualifications in different fields compare to each other. The framework also helps students to understand what qualifications they need to progress towards a higher learning goal, such as a university degree or equivalent higher education award.

What is an ‘endorsed’ course?

An endorsed course is a skills based course which has been checked over and approved by an independent awarding body. Endorsed courses are not regulated so do not result in a qualification - however, the student can usually purchase a certificate showing the awarding body’s logo if they wish. Certain awarding bodies - such as Quality Licence Scheme and TQUK - have developed endorsement schemes as a way to help students select the best skills based courses for them.