Skip to content

BTEC ICT Specialist Diploma Level 3 - No Attendance Required

IT Support, Networking and Security, QCF Accredited, Also Covers CompTIA A+ 220-1001 & 1002

Kandu IT


Save 7%
£739 inc VAT (was £799)
Or £61.58/mo. for 12 months...
Offer ends 01 December 2021
Finance options

Monthly payment plan available.

Study method
Online, self-paced
240 hours
Access to content
14 months
Level 3 Diploma in ICT Systems and Principles for IT Professionals
Regulated qualification What's this?
Additional info
  • Exam(s) / assessment(s) is included in price
  • Tutor is available to students
  • TOTUM card is available to purchase separately What's this?

491 students enquired about/purchased this course

Add to basket or enquire


The BTEC Diploma in ICT Systems & Principles Level 3 (QCF) accredits skills in IT Support, Maintenance, Networking & Security. The course also closely follows the CompTIA A+ and Network+ learning outcomes.

Learning and Assessments are conducted remotely via the online learning interface, NO EXAMS are required.


Level 3 Diploma in ICT Systems and Principles for IT Professionals

Awarded by Pearson
Regulated by Ofqual

Course media


Kandu Education Ltd create innovative learning solutions for use outside of the traditional classroom. Our unique delivery system blends the flexibility of online learning, whilst ensuring practical skill development.

The course is delivered via the online learning interface which includes interactive content such as Videos, Simulations, Printable Practical Tasks, Online Quizzes, Live Labs.

Course Contents:

  • PC Assembly & Operating Systems - Learn to build PC’s to custom specifications, install & configure Microsoft and Linux Operating Systems.
  • Mobile Devices - Over 10 hours of videos focusing specifically on Laptop Repair are included, the important features of smartphones and tablets are also introduced.
  • Troubleshooting - Learn to find and fix issues with computer hardware, software and networks.
  • MS Windows - An in-depth look at the configuration, network and security features of Microsoft Windows -
  • Linux - Practical Labs are included which will build a working knowledge of the Linux Operating Systems and its Command Line Interface.
  • IP Networking - Learn the basics of configuring TCP/IP and creating simple SOHO networks.
  • Network Architecture - Discover the many different components which are involved in building computer networks, including network devices, cabling and wireless media.
  • Network Operating Systems - Configure Microsoft Windows and Linux Clients and Servers, setup Active Directory services.
  • Practical Networking - Manage & Maintain Computer Networks.
  • Network Security - Identify Vulnerabilities & Threats, learn about Network Hardening, Physical Security, Access Control, Forensics, Firewalls and Encryption.
  • Network Standards - Understand Networking Theory, Models, Policies and Standards.
  • CompTIA A+ - Supplied resources also cover CompTIA A+ 220-1001 & 1002 Objectives, with over 1400 practice questions and access to 58 Live Labs being provided.

Tutor Support:

All learners are provided with a personal tutor and a dedicated assessor which are available via phone, email, in person (by appointment) and through the learning interface.

Qualification Details:

  • Qualification: BTEC Diploma in ICT Systems & Principles L3
  • Awarding Body: Pearson Edexcel
  • QAN: 501/1435/9
  • Duration: 240 Hours.
  • QCF Credits: 40
  • UCAS Points: 32


The qualification requires an estimated 240 learning hours to be completed. 14 months access is provided to the learning system allows you to study at your own pace.


BTEC ICT Specialist Qualifications are vocational qualifications, primarily designed for career progression. On completion the learner will be qualified to apply for technical positions related to IT Support & Networking.

The Level 3 ICT Specialist Diploma carries 40 QCF Credits & 32 UCAS Points which can be used towards entry to higher levels such as HNC/HND.

Who is this course for?

The course is suitable for anyone looking to accredit skills in IT Support, Networking & Cyber Security.

This BTEC ICT Specialist Diploma requires no exams with assessment is based on a portfolio of evidence consisting of assignments and practical assessments which are documented as short video clips/screen recordings of your practical work.


No formal pre-requisites, however it is recommended that a candidate have at least some experience of using computers.

Career path

The qualification is designed to act as a platform which will allow the learner to secure employment ranging from an IT Support Technician up to Systems/Network Administration with a salary expectations ranging from £30,537 - £47,291 (source, Reed salary calculator).

Questions and answers


Course rating


What does study method mean?

Study method describes the format in which the course will be delivered. At courses are delivered in a number of ways, including online courses, where the course content can be accessed online remotely, and classroom courses, where courses are delivered in person at a classroom venue.

What are CPD hours/points?

CPD stands for Continuing Professional Development. If you work in certain professions or for certain companies, your employer may require you to complete a number of CPD hours or points, per year. You can find a range of CPD courses on, many of which can be completed online.

What is a ‘regulated qualification’?

A regulated qualification is delivered by a learning institution which is regulated by a government body. In England, the government body which regulates courses is Ofqual. Ofqual regulated qualifications sit on the Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF), which can help students understand how different qualifications in different fields compare to each other. The framework also helps students to understand what qualifications they need to progress towards a higher learning goal, such as a university degree or equivalent higher education award.

What is an ‘endorsed’ course?

An endorsed course is a skills based course which has been checked over and approved by an independent awarding body. Endorsed courses are not regulated so do not result in a qualification - however, the student can usually purchase a certificate showing the awarding body’s logo if they wish. Certain awarding bodies - such as Quality Licence Scheme and TQUK - have developed endorsement schemes as a way to help students select the best skills based courses for them.